Brazil closes land borders with eight neighboring countries

The restriction is yet another measure taken to contain the spread of the coronavirus outbreak

Friendship Bridge in Paraguay
At the Friendship Bridge, the Paraguayan Navy uses vessels and an aircraft to monitor the border and avoid traffic between Brazil and Paraguay. Photo: Shutterstock
Ler em português

Brazil closed its land borders with 8 neighboring countries and territories in South America this Thursday (19), in yet another measure to try to contain the spread of the coronavirus outbreak. The federal ordinance applies to highways and other land crossings, but not to airports.

Foreigners who are in these neighboring countries will not be able to enter Brazil, but Brazilian citizens will be allowed in. Cargoes may also continue to enter Brazil, as well as humanitarian aid personnel. The partial blockade will be valid for the next 15 days.


According to the Brazilian federal government, the restriction is being imposed by “technical and reasoned recommendation from the National Health Surveillance Agency (Anvisa) and is justified by health reasons related to the risks of contamination and dissemination of the coronavirus.”

The foreigner who does not comply with the restriction into the country will be immediately deported and will not be able to apply for refugee status.

The measure applies to non-Brazilian citizens coming from the following countries:

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Colombia
  • Guyana
  • French Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname

Brazil had already closed its border with Venezuela, on a previous federal determination.

The only neighboring country that will have other specific rules applying to its border restrictions is Uruguay, and the Brazilian Ministry of Justice informed that both countries are negotiating a closure there.

Get the best insights about Latin America market in your inbox